Arcata Eye Scene

A-town art, music, theatre. Mostly music. Updated Wednesdays.

A&E writers swear off first-person pronoun – APRIL 1, 2008

More at arcataeye.com.

Humboldt County’s music journalists took a rare step on Thursday, each of whom promised to ban the first-person pronoun from their scene coverage.

“The words ‘I’ and ‘me’ cited as distractions from things other than myself, such as a band, art opening or theatrical performance that doesn’t count myself or me as a member, will no longer be used in my columns, unless I happen to be blogging,” read the citation signed by writers for the Arcata Eye, North Coast Journal, Eureka Reporter and Times-Standard Northern Lights.

The self-imposed “I Ban” was short-lived as the writers printed long columns about how they each felt about the restriction, before launching into long treatises about what each had eaten for breakfast and who each had performed coitus with.

In related news, Arcata Eye columnists have started “telling it like it is” instead of how they think it is.

6 Comments»

  Melody Stone wrote @

Oops I didn’t see that. I can comply with those guidelines if we try this agin.

  Melody Stone wrote @

I didn’t sign anything, and i’m the only scene writer for the ER – is this a joke? I’m so confused!

  Terrence McNally wrote @

All y’all scensters should stop writing about yerselfs.

  Monica wrote @

Alright, T- I’ll admit that I *should* stop writing about myself… but really, if I’m allowed to, why should I stop? 🙂

  Terrence McNally wrote @

You’re also allowed to douse yourself in patchouli, Mon.
Go ahead, douse yourself in verbal patchouli.
Do it. Big old bottle of keyboard patchouli.
In the Northern Lights, you’re also allowed to run your favorite band photo of you singing every week.
Do that to. “Lookie, it’s me signing.”
You’re also allowed to blog at work. Oh, damn!
If you haven’t seen them yet, Sheldon is using your fine image on his official calling card.
I grabbed a couple for you.

  sandrar wrote @

Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.


Leave a Reply

