Arcata Eye Scene

A-town art, music, theatre. Mostly music. Updated Wednesdays.

Daniel Lewis: Rock and a Hard Place – March 4, 2008

Dearest Reader,

I know that it has been a week since we last spoke. I apologize, but it was the last week in February, and I was frightened. I hope you’re doing all right. If you ever wanted to go out and just talk about stuff, that’d be cool. Maybe we could catch a show at the Alibi. I was there last Saturday, and I think you would have really enjoyed it.

The original bill was the BarFeeders and the Baby Arms, but the BarFeeders cancelled so instead we got to see a new local band called Tyler Flame and the Ellipsis. I really like hearing new music, and I also like fire, so it was very exciting for me.

Tyler Flame has a lot going for it. They have written music about Tony’s #1, incorporated dual kazoos into one of their songs, and repeatedly showed us that they had no fear of heights by jumping off and on just about everything in the bar. It was a lot of fun to see these guys playing, especially because it was so obvious that they were enjoying themselves. The music was just the right flavor to match the energy. Not too serious, not too silly, just a really good time that doesn’t necessarily cater to any specific genre but rocks with a smile and wink.

Then there were the Baby Arms. It’s not enough to say that they’re a punk rock band. Remember when I used to practice juggling chainsaws late at night and we’d watch Conan and drink chai, and our neighbors hired those wacky ninja assassin orangutans to kill us, and they threw kittens like ninja stars through our window, and I accidentally hacked them all up with my chainsaw and we were all covered in the mess, and although it seemed really cool, we were kinda sad and felt guilty about it? That’s what the Baby Arms are like.

I didn’t get the details on what was going on, but the usual bassist for the Baby Arms was replaced by Chris Smiley from 33 1/3 (which I think is now …and 1/3, no 33) and it was a great addition. All of the usual favorites were played, F.B.C., the Boredom Song, Eat it With Your Face, but there were also new songs to be belligerent to.

I was personally impressed with the introduction of  an acoustic piece, if you can believe that, and of course there was also a  wonderful Misfits cover, “Attitude.” Is there any better way to sum up the Baby Arms, besides the whole orangutan thing, then to say attitude? Well, of course, there is “loud, drunk, cynical and psychotic,” but aside from that, I’d have to say that attitude is definitely a great answer to the question, “What do the Baby Arms sound like?” It sounds like lots and lots of attitude. Kind of in the same likeness of PTU (Purge the Urge) it’s the kind of great showy performance that sticks to your ribs like a glue filled oatmeal pie.

Well, I guess that’s all for now. I miss you and think of you  all the time. I hope to see you rocking in the future.

Sincerely,
Rock and a Hard Place

Daniel Lewis also edits The Plague zine. No actual kittens were, or will ever be, harmed in the making of this column.

1 Comment»

  Monica wrote @

It’s official… I love this guy as an Eye columnist. I shall meet him someday, and tell him just that.

BTW- Spot on about the Baby Arms. I was there with the chainsaws and the kittens (I must have missed the night with the orangutans), and that’s totally how it was.
~Monica~


Leave a Reply

